RSS or Why Use Google Reader?

I won’t go into too much detail about Google Reader as the video below explains how it works better than I ever could, but I will talk about how I use it on a daily basis.

I have really only started to appreciate Google Reader over the last few years. It has become part of a set of tools that I use every day to keep up to date with what is going on in the world of learning technology. The advantage of a tool like this is that the information comes to you, but you don’t have to clog up your email inbox to get it. There are many other tools which provide a similar service as this (FeedDemon, FeedBucket) but I like Google Reader for the way that it works with the other tools that I use. I have my Google Reader feed display on my iGoogle page. This is then my home page whenever I open my browser, allowing me to not only see the articles I have in Google Reader, but also my Twitter feed, Google Translate and other tools. I also regularly favourite articles, or use my social bookmarking tool (Diigo) to save any that I might want to read again or refer to in the future.

Google Reader is a great tool for keeping up to date with what is going on in learning technology but is it useful for other areas of study? It could be a really useful tool for students, but do they even know it exists, or how they could use it for their studies?

There are however a new breed of tools which are appearing. Not only do they collect the items that you find on the web, but they also allow you to curate this content. I will talk about this in my following blog post!

2 thoughts on “RSS or Why Use Google Reader?

Leave a Reply

